Make your own Custom Address Label

I touched on this topic a few posts ago, but it merits repeating. If you’ve got an artistic itch you want or need to scratch, and you have a little left over space on a full sheet label, half sheet label, a quarter sheet label or even an ML-0600 label, then get yourself an x-acto knife. It doesn’t take much talent, just a steady hand, the right amount of pressure, a pair of good eyes and a sharp x-acto knife. Dull x-acto knives will kill this idea in a heartbeat. You’ll be tearing the label instead of cutting it, and then you’ll be tearing your hair out.
Choose a piece of artwork according to your skill level, and according to the amount of time you want to spend cutting out your artwork. I’m choosing one of my favorite animals, the whale. I have a collection of whale cups at home. I let people know that I have a collections of whale cups, so when people go on vacation they send me all kinds of cups and mugs that have either depictions of whales, or are in the shape of a whale. The tail is usually the handle on the cup. I’ll be using one of my mugs as a starting point for my label artwork.
Using the Gimp and Inkscape, my final product is an outline of a killer whale. I stuck it on a full sheet label.

Whale label on a full sheet label

And here’s the final product on an envelope.:

Whale label on an Envelope

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

